Elk River Basin - Home
green bar

The Elk River Basin lies within portions of Missouri, Arkansas, Kansas, and Oklahoma. Counties include Benton County in Arkansas, Barry, McDonald, and Newton counties in Missouri, Delaware and Ottawa counties in Oklahoma, and Crawford County in Kansas.

Missouri cities that lie within the basin include Seneca, Stark City, Fairview, Wheaton, Stella, Goodman, Anderson, Lanagan, Pineville, Washburn, Seligman, Noel, and Southwest City, and the largest of the Missouri cities, Neosho. Arkansas communities found in the basin are Sulphur Springs, Bella Vista, Gravette, Pea Ridge, Garfield, Avoca, Little Flock City, Centerton, Rogers, and the largest of the all cities within the watershed, Bentonville.

Index | History | Agriculture | Non-Ag Activities | Recreation | Point Source Pollution | NPS | Plants & Animals | Water Quality | Projects & Groups
Physical | Hydrology | Climate | Drinking Water | Curriculum | 4H/FFA

Elk River | James River | Sac River | Spring River | North Fork Salt River

Missouri Department
of Natural Resources

Missouri Watershed Information Network (MoWIN)
Send comments to: mowin1@missouri.edu
205 Agricultural Engineering
Columbia, MO 65211
Phone: (573) 882-0085
Toll Free: (MO only): 1-877-H20-shed (426-7433)
Fax: (573) 884-5650

Page last updated August 26, 2008